Outstanding New Play or Musical, Choreography and Direction of a Play

Read more

Closing in on the last of the virtual presentations of the 2020 Helen Hayes Awards. You are invited to be part of the Zoom audience.

Tune in tonight to learn who will clear room on a shelf for a 2020 Helen Hayes Award. If you can’t be in the audience, find real time announcements on theatreWashington’s social media: FacebookTwitter and Instagram, check back here (we’ll update the list).

Missed it? Watch all eight presentations on YouTube.

Tonight’s presenters:
Allyson Currin and Helen Hedman!

Charles MacArthur Award for Outstanding Original New Play or Musical

Tearrance Chisholm P.Y.G. Or The Mis-Edumaction Of Dorian Belle       
Studio Theatre 
Irma Correa El viejo, el joven y el mar (The Old Man, the Youth, and the Sea)
GALA Hispanic Theatre
Ken Ludwig Dear Jack, Dear Louise                
Arena Stage
Psalmayene 24 Les Deux Noirs: Notes on Notes of a Native Son
Mosaic Theater Company of DC 
Paul Reisman The Great Commedia Hotel Murder Mystery          
Faction of Fools Theatre Company

Outstanding Choreography in a Musical – Hayes

Grady McLeod Bowman                                Singin’ in the Rain  
Olney Theatre Center
Byron Easley   Roald Dahl’s Matilda the Musical   
Olney Theatre Center
Denis Jones                            
A Chorus Line
Signature Theatre
Parker Esse                             Newsies
Arena Stage 
Katie Spelman                        Cabaret
Olney Theatre Center

Outstanding Choreography in a Musical – Helen

Tina Marie DeSimone & Mark Minnick                                A Christmas Story
Toby’s Dinner Theatre
Ilona Kessell  Little Shop of Horrors
Constellation Theatre Company 
Ashleigh King  Legally Blonde
The Keegan Theatre 
Robert Mintz   Singin’ in the Rain
NextStop Theatre Company 
Luis Salgado Fame, The Musical
GALA Hispanic Theatre

Outstanding Direction in a Play – Hayes

Vivienne Benesch     Love’s Labor’s Lost    
Folger Theatre
Jose Carrasquillo     The Brothers Size    
1st Stage
Robert Richmond    Nell Gwynn
Folger Theatre
Ryan Rilette, Jared Mezzocchi  The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Round House Theatre
Nicole A. Watson            School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play
Round House Theatre

Outstanding Direction in a Play – Helen

Raymond O. Caldwell  Blood at the Root  
Theater Alliance
Danielle A. Drakes  Klytmnestra: An Epic Slam Poem
Theater Alliance
Rick Hammerly   Agnes of God
Factory 449
Alex Levy, Juan Francisco Villa columbinus 
1st Stage
DeMone Seraphin                                                                   Topdog/Underdog  
Avant Bard Theatre
Vato Tsikurishvili Cyrano de Bergerac 
Synetic Theater

Next Helen Hayes Awards night: Friday, September 11Sign up

Read more

Related Articles

Back to top button