Cleveland Orchestra promotes Vinay Parameswaran to associate conductor


The Cleveland Orchestra has elevated Vinay Parameswaran to the position of associate conductor and has extended his contracts for other roles at the institution.

The orchestra said in a news release that the agreement continues Parameswaran’s tenure through the 2021-22 season.

In addition to the new associate conductor title, Parameswaran still will hold the Elizabeth Ring and William Gwinn Mather Assistant Conductor Endowed Chair with the orchestra. He will continue in his role as music director of the Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra, also through the 2021-22 season.

Cleveland Orchestra music director Franz Welser-Möst said in a statement that Parameswaran “has a natural authority that comes from his knowledge of a piece, inside-out, and innate musicality. He is extremely easy to work with because he has made the Cleveland Orchestra’s priority his own: Music comes first.”

The orchestra’s chief artistic officer, Mark Williams, added, “During (Parameswaran’s) tenure at the Orchestra, I have been privileged to observe his growth as a musician and valued member of the community. With the Cleveland Orchestra Youth Orchestra, he has been particularly successful because of the high standards he brings to the students and his ability to speak to and work with them as adults.”

Parameswaran joined the orchestra’s conducting staff as assistant conductor in August 2017. Since then, the orchestra said in its release, he “has been active in education and community performances, provided support to … Welser-Möst, and served as cover conductor for Severance Hall, Blossom Music Festival, and tour concerts — including during the milestone 100th Cleveland Orchestra season and 50th Anniversary season of Blossom Music Center.”

The San Francisco-area native holds a bachelor’s degree in music and political science from Brown University. He received a diploma in conducting from the Curtis Institute of Music, where he studied with Otto-Werner Mueller as the Albert M. Greenfield Fellow.


Related Articles

Back to top button